71 Comments

I have appreciated your perspective on cinema for years with the Globe, and now in your newsletter. I also appreciate your broader commentary on cultural and societal matters, so I would encourage you to continue to cast your net wide with your newsletter.

These days I go rarely to the cinema and stream movies only on occasion. I prefer reading, I confess to my addiction to bargain ebook offerings, mostly mysteries, noir and good spy fiction. Not sure of your reading preferences, but would enjoy your selecting a particular genre and discussing good/great books that have translated well to film, or some not so well.

Doesn’t have to be mysteries, but I won’t object if you do. 😎

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I enjoy reading your takes on the popular shows we're all bingeing. As with any art, I know what I like, but I get more out of it when an expert provides context. I'm pretty mainstream, so reading about the more obscure stuff is interesting and will hopefully (maybe?) inspire me to try new things going forward.

The user guides to streaming services/advice for cord-cutting would be a great bonus. I pay for HBO and apple tv because I wanted Succession/Lasso (love both) but there's probably a lot I'm missing and I often consider cancelling them.

I always enjoyed your Globe column and was excited for your new venture. It's good karma to support those taking a chance.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

Thank you so much for providing this newsletter. I think the frequency and length are just fine. I am a senior interested in quality movies. I haven't gone back to visiting movie theaters but enjoying streaming with Netflix and Amazon Prime. If there are enough releases that I might like, I'll take out a month's subscription of HBO. I love the movies and appreciate your perceptive reviews.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

Always enjoyed everything that you wrote about in the Globe even if it wasn't directly about film. Keep on reviewing and yes perhaps a bit more about streaming series. This reader is 91 years old and still not venturing into movie theaters. Watching a good series becomes like reading a novel. It can engage us over weeks with characters that we follow. This is a substitution for the real people that we no longer meet. We may be able to interact with close relatives and friends but the wider circle that we used to be part of is limited at present. I rarely disagree with your reviews and sometimes watch movies that I wouldn't have if it weren't for reading you positive review.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I love reading your reviews, recommendations, and updates. I have for quite some time, even in the prehistoric days when they were only available via newsprint. I think the frequency of posts is just fine, in fact wouldn't object to getting them more often. I think the streaming vs. in-theatre reviews are well balanced. I, for one, am eager to going back to watching movies in theatre as soon as better content is available (when will they run out of superhero movies?). My favorite part of your posts is hearing about I may not of been aware of before, both current and older releases, hidden gems so to speak, or films that haven't gotten as much notoriety as the big budget popcorn releases. As a result of one of your posts, I started digging deeper into the Ozu catalog and loved seeing some of his other works (previously only having seen Tokyo Story). Please keep doing what you're doing, its very much appreciated.

Expand full comment

Dear Ty Burr,

I am a latecomer to your reviews, as a Minnesotan who subscribed to the online Boston paper (where our daughter lives) during the pandemic. I am a longtime huge movie fan (spent ten years myself reviewing movies for a Minnesota Public Radio affiliate, with some national circulation through an Albany public radio station), and I immediately appreciated your reviews in the Globe. The pandemic has certainly upended my moviegoing, but it was already in major transition with all the streaming possibilities. Your newsletter is WONDERFUL--just what I need: recommendations that address the many different places to find great movies today. I love the wide-ranging focus, between movies old and new and between movies theatrical and streaming. Inevitably your recommendations are personal and selective--but that's what I like about them, and our tastes are similar enough that I almost always find them to contain good ideas for my watching. I'm not sure how commercially viable an idiosyncratic, free-ranging set of recommendations is, but what a deeply welcome oasis it is in the landscape of huge, amorphous "streaming." Thank you for what you are doing!

Sincerely, Diana in Minnesota

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I'm enjoying reading all of your posts. My husband and I are older (upper 70s) and we rarely go out to the movies, but we have several streaming services. We really enjoy series - often British mysteries. It's nice to have the series available to watch in the evening, without having to decide "What shall we watch next?"

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I appreciate your views on film which I have read over the years. I find the length and frequency of the posts to work very well for me. I have found it frustrating with other reviewers' web sites when they review a lot of content which I do not have access to. I was a weekly moviegoer prior to the pandemic but now only stream at home. That includes a lot of series and I am always looking for recommendations. So I appreciate your venturing into the realm of tv while maintaining a focus on films as well.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

You're a brave man to ask for feedback and suggestions, and thank you! I have many comments in response to your many prompts, which I'll take some time to compile, and post later. Just have to say that the previous comment on this thread is actually from my sister who lives on the opposite coast. I turned her on to your WatchList as soon as I learned of it -- so glad she's become a fan! Just tryin' to spread the word.....

Expand full comment

Thank you. I was expecting what you were doing at the Globe — actually I hoped. I cannot remember seeing more than a few bad movies in 30 years because I always research films. You are my prime source. I hope you always include streamed movies because I see many. I like it when you have a theme. Or feature an actor. Interviews would be great. Artsy, mainstream, obscure, blockbuster are all in my wheelhouse because I am crazy for movies. Keep it up.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

So far so good, only recommendation is to do more comments on new releases since I enjoyed your previous reviews immensely.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

This has been great and at least in me you have a very satisfied subscriber. Movies I’ve watched partly or largely in your recommendations (from both the newsletter itself and from comment threads): The Seventh Victim, Quo Vadis, Aida? Man Push Cart, Pig, probably a couple of others. (And just trying to find a three hour slot in the right mindset to really get into Margaret.)

My one request/plea would be to keep the emphasis on movies and not pivot to TV. I guess I’m in the super unusual position of not caring much about TV and esp. not caring much about reading about TV, so probably a minority view. Also, I am going to movie theaters regularly but also watch plenty at home and always interested in learning about old and underappreciated films, so I don’t have a strong preference about a focus on theatrical releases vs. home viewing.

Mostly, I’m happy to follow your interests and discover new and old

movies.

Expand full comment

Hi Ty---- I was a huge fan of your reviews when you wrote for the Globe, and I always enjoyed your takes on what is stimulating and insightful in film or streaming options. Your full and enthusiastic commentaries about film from countries far and wide revealed your hope that your readers would also grasp the importance and vitality to the greater world of cinema., I hope to get some of your excellent takes on these worlds in this newsletter as well. Thanks!

Expand full comment

Obviously, I am gonna be a fan of anything you do. You write brilliantly; your knowledge of films and TV is extensive; and you're totally enthralled with your subject matter. What's not to love about the Ty Burr Watch List?

Beyond that, I have two observations, neither of which is a criticism as such. Just things you might want to think about as the Ty Burr Watch List grows.

1. You appear to be skewing toward a more mature readership. Is this by intent? It's a more dependable market segment in terms of attracting paying subscribers, I suspect, but maybe not in terms of attracting buzz—and you are gonna need buzz to keep the momentum going. You're still skitching on the Boston Globe column, but you can't be sure how long that headwind is gonna last.

2. You're getting quite a lot of comments, particularly in response to your open-ended questions like "What movie scared you the most?" This good! And you're acknowledging those comments. Even better! What would be best is if the commenters acknowledged each other because then you will have achieved true "stickiness"—the apex of every online venue's ambitions! Because when you're sticky, your readers are essentially co-creators of the content—which takes a lot of the pressure off of you! 😊

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I generally like the way you are doing this. I would like to see primarily new movie reviews, at the time they are first released. Interviews are less interesting to me. I'm not interested in any other forms, such as podcasts, etc.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

Ty, your newsletter has been a pleasure so far, both for me and my wife. I am going to the movies (in theaters) about once a week, so I appreciate your take on all the current film releases. But it's been helpful to be reminded of the films we can see via streaming, too--we have access to so many via subscriptions to HBO Max, Amazon Prime, Netflix, Hulu and more. (My bills keep mounting in that regard.)

The frequency and length of your posts seem just right--I have no trouble keeping up with your latest posts.

And while your expertise lies in films, I wouldn't mind your take on some of the new TV series that have wowed you. (Lately, I've been absorbed by "Scenes from a Marriage," "Dopesick," "Maid," and of course "Squid Game.")

Hope to see you in person soon! :)

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

Hi, Ty. I've enjoyed your writing and reviews for more years than I care to divulge in a public forum -- and across many outlets. I am greatly enjoying the Ty Burr worldview of the Watch List -- it feels like a cozy conversation with an old friend. I subscribe to a lot of podcasts and so am HAPPY to have this different format for content I enjoy. A periodic video(Zoom) with actors/directors/cinematographers would be boss.

I usually will read the daily post, but I love the digest in case I don't keep up or I have dumped a post with needed references.

I like the mix of classic and new, independent and big bang, and niche and broad appeal.

This is a favorite subscription of mine, and I appreciate getting your voice in concentrated doses!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

Keep doing what you're doing, Ty.

One comment mentions that you appear to be aiming at an older audience. That is fine with us. Seems that too much of film, lately, is aimed at children and those who have yet to fully mature.

Thanks, Al and Naomi

Expand full comment

I expected the posts to be like what you wrote in the Globe, especially the movie suggestions. I like what you are writing now. I get a few movie recommendations and a broader range of views. It feels more personal, like you are writing to me.

I have seen most of the top 10 movies published by reviewers so I am always interested in movies that were ignored or that were groundbreaking to the time.

I would be interested in published articles about media subjects and recommendations about books on the media. Also posts that explain trends, like are cigarettes making a comeback? Seems like all of the key actors in movies from the past smoked a lot. Of course viewers did also. I wonder if my experimenting with smoking in my teens was influenced by what I saw in the movies as well as what I saw at home. These days I see a lot of it again but still not as much as before, say 2000.

Expand full comment

I like it just the way it is. No additional coverage. Plain and simple reviews, opinions, great suggestions. Thanks so much!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I really enjoy your newsletter and reviews. I think the length and mixed styles and comparisons new and old are interesting. However then to prefer newer movies or series to watch as being a movie enthusiastic , I’ve seen plenty.

I haven’t been at the movies in ages and feel more comfortable watching at home, so I’m more interested in things I can watch home. Not interested in main steam tv , don’t waist time on that. I then to watch only cable & subscription channels. I love watching mystery, detective, follow by sarcastic humor, and some adventure suspense. interesting in cleaver & mature scripts. And great acting. Then to screen by number of stars, since there’s so much junk out there. Thanks again for your reviews

Expand full comment

Off-topic. It was mind-blowing how good your writing is when you write about popular culture, notably when a celebrity dies; they are unforgettable. I wrote for newspapers 20 years, so I know it ain’t easy. Just seems that way.

Expand full comment

Keep doing just what you're doing!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I haven’t been to a theatre in two years, alas. So your perspective and suggestions have been very helpful. I find them entertaining and educational, neither too abstract nor too mainstream. Keep it coming and thanks!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I like reading about movies more than I like seeing them, and I've been very pleased with your pieces. A nice bonus (for me, at least) is that you occasionally write about TV shows, so I hope you'll continue to do that.

Expand full comment

Love the Batman art!

Expand full comment

Thanks for asking... I also enjoy the NY Times Watching email and I'm looking for another/better perspective from what they do. Basically, good suggestions on what to watch on streaming networks -- both movies and series.

I also quite like your movie reviews but my main motivation is high quality suggestions on how to fill up the one hour we devote each evening to a movie or series.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I miss your reviews in the Globe, and feel sorry for Mark Feeney, who now reviews photography AND movies. We have Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, Criterion and Apple +, so I appreciate your insights to help decide what to watch in this avalanche of offerings. Especially for Criterion, I need help from someone with deep knowledge and history with movies to decide what to spend my time watching. It's just as helpful to know what NOT to watch! Thanks Ty.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

The pleasure I get from reading your watch list is from the confidence I have in you. I like that you care enough about me to share your interests, I like your conversational style, I like that you are sentimental and cry watching movies. I am not going to presume to tell you how to improve, because I rely on you to continue what you already do so well. You’ve directed me to so much excellent content I would have missed. Thanks for all of it.

Expand full comment

I must admit I miss your reviews in the Globe. I may not always agree with your assessments, but always enjoyed reading them. Coming to your Watch List, I'm not sure what I was expecting, but whatever it is, it's wonderful. I like your discussions of both current and "before" films. Please continue as you have been. And thanks for this!

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I'm getting just what I expected: thoughtful, insightful commentary based in a deep and long understanding and appreciation of films and shows. I also know you know a lot about music — your NYT article about Angelique Kidjo turned me on to one of my favorite performers — and I'd love any of your cultural comments. I'd be happy to read interviews but I am not enough of a cinephile to want to pay for them. That said, a podcast with you talking to other film experts and professionals would be great. I'd be interested in the more technical aspects of filmmaking, and I might just pay for an interview with a sound guy or cinematographer or a screenwriter about their creative process. I never took any film studies so anything now to help me understand better what I'm looking at gets a thumbs up. I think I'd like reviews early on in a run, and not wait for it streams, but it doesn't have to drop the same day. The questions I ask myself are, what do I need to see, and what do I need to see on a big screen? I am in Maine and I live in one of the safest Covid counties in the country so I do go to the movie theater on occasion. But it's an hour to Waterville, a different county and the closest and maybe only place to see so-called art movies. Just this week I'm missing Hidden Life of Trees but might be able to catch French Dispatch and Spencer over the weekend, if we want to do a double feature. Also the new Branagh but maybe that will stay past a week. Such are my dilemmas. Eveningstar in Brunswick screens one movie that runs for about five days so you have to act fast there as well. I also read a lot of books and I stream a lot of shows and movies, strictly on my iPad, some for background noise and others for actual watching. I like a heads up about don't miss content — Don't miss Fleabag. Don't miss the new Strout (if that's true). Don't miss seeing Spencer in the theater — or skip it and make sure you see the Branagh. I guess help prioritizing. I listen to Pop Culture Happy Hour for that and I like them but you do less fluff and I trust your judgement more. Hope that helps. Thanks for this great service and I'm glad it's going well for you.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

I enjoy your posts just as they are. On the subject of 'when to post', my preference would be to learn about them when they hit the theaters, and maybe have a link back to the review at the time when they become available for streaming. Thanks!

Expand full comment

I’ve enjoyed your newsletters greatly. I am going to lightly attended movies regularly and would appreciate reviews and comments on the theatrical release dates. The trend is for streaming to start within a week or two, so it shouldn’t be hard for streamers to find the recent reviews, but since there’s no space limitation in email, why not just resend the reviews when that happens? I wish more fully vaccinated people would try venturing out to a matinee or a weeknight movie. There are usually only a handful of people there. Enjoy your vaccinated immunity!

On a somewhat related subject, it’s disappointing to see that the Kendall Square theater has turned mostly mainstream. It used to be special, but now it’s no different from the downtown Boston AMC.

Expand full comment

I like the idea of a Zoom event held periodically. Back in the 1980s, my ex-husband Robert Massimilian wrote movie reviews for the General Cinema Theatre (I believe the Ted Selami Family owned the theatres back then). They used to hand out a little magazine when you went into a General Cinema Theatre to see a movie (in Brookline). I loved accompanying him to the pre-screenings. I no longer live in Boston and no longer read "The Globe," but appreciate your perspective. Today I stick to TCM movies.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

To be honest, I didn't know what to expect when I signed up or how I found your newsletter in the beginning, but I have been receiving them since the start. I also didn't know about you, but after a Google search, I realized it might be just the thing I was looking for. The frequency is fine with me, I don't read each issue, but do check to see if it interests me. I have watched several films that have been featured and that's great. I am living in Japan, and would like to see more foreign films featured. The Criterion Channel has so many great foreign films, it would be great to get some recommendations from there. I like the mainstream recommendations, the obscure and everything in between.

Thanks for the effort you put into each issue!

Expand full comment

Ty, I’ve been enjoying your reviews since your Entertainment Weekly years. I am throughly enjoying your watchlist. I like that you are skewing towards a more mature audience. I love the wide variety of films you have highlighted. I never would have found films like “Riders of Justice” on my own - for that movie alone the watchlist has been worth every read. I love reading reviews and I am happy with the broad strokes approach you mostly use my big request would be a deep dive review of films you love and/or consider must see cinema. I love Roger Ebert’s Great Movie Reviews and would like nothing more then to see Ty Burr’s Great Movie Reviews!

Expand full comment

Was looking for your take on the new theatrical releases -- more consumer related than cinematic criticism although those are intertwined. Also, would very much appreciate reviews of streaming movies. Probably going to cut back to the Weekly Digest at some point, haven't yet.

That would allow me quick editing of some of your historical columns that I have little interest in

(not that I don't find some of them very interesting!). Absolutely no interest in podcasts but I bet a younger audience would -- so, what is the median age of your subscribers, anyway? Boomer plus is my guess! (yes, that's where I fall...)

Expand full comment

I'm enjoying this very much.

In terms of timing, theatrical release works for me--it may prompt me to attend, and I'll remember my interest at when it can be streamed.

I don't know if your audience is mostly in Greater Boston but seeing a bit more of coverage about upcoming programing themes at local arthouses, the Docyard, local festivals could be neat. If you had something to say--no need to conjure an opinion about the puppetry tradition in Czechoslovakia, just because the Harvard Film Archive is programing Jiri Trnka.

Expand full comment

For me, I need less artsy recommendations. I am looking for quirky and cute things to watch for entertainment rather than contributions to the art.

Expand full comment

I live in Princeton, West Virginia, and do not read the Boston Globe. I do listen to WBUR. I think it was by WBUR that I was introduced to you only three months ago. I signed up for your newsletter and became paid subscriber that same day. I am surprisingly attached to your opinions about films! I am making film choices based on your critique. Many are films I would never have found on my own. I wholly enjoy your writing style, vulnerability (weeping for Natalie Wood (I'm with your beloved on this one)), imaginal depth, charity (Riders of Justice), breadth, and depth. You are my friend who I have never met and liked at once. I am very curious about your opinions of Spencer and the ilk therein. Because...I am conflicted about those films. I organically resist popular culture but am, in fact, intensely curious about Kristen Stewart and Daniel Craig. What ARE your thoughts about Spencer? In summary, you can't eff-up. Ask me again in a year when I am to renew. Affectionately yours. Cynthia

Expand full comment

I enjoy your daily posts. Fun and informative reads. Keep them coming!

Expand full comment

1. Yes, but read on...

2. The timing of the posts are fine. I would like posts that give those of us with little time a quick overview of the film and where we can see it and then, you could do a "Read the entire review," part of the post. "Last Bottle," a wine service does something like this, and I love it. They call is: "See Offer," and "Nerdy Details." So if you want to just order it, you look immediately at the offer, but if you want to read the fully review, "Nerdy Details."

3. I like artsy films, and so far I've watched, "Nine Days," and "Truffle Hunters" and enjoyed both.

4. I REALLY, REALLY, want a spread sheet of what movie or series is available on what service. And if you had the resources, the list should include for how long it is available on the service. Because half the time I read a review that I like and I do not have the service that it is on... so that is disappointing.

5. That works for me. Sometimes the topics are obscure, but it seems that you have fun with that, so I don't want to take away your joy.

Expand full comment

Yes! The email reviews are great and have exceeded my expectations. I thought they might be too long or academic, but instead it's a great variety of new things to peruse, that I haven't seen elsewhere. Of course, I don't read every word of every review, but the ones I do read thru usually motivate us to find or watch it.

I read the emails knowing that I'm reading someone's informed opinion, and I might not always agree. Like your review of "Last Night In Soho" got us into a theater for the 1st time in a year+, but I think you didn't enjoy that movie as much as we did.

Today's article about "Skidoo" - That's so crazy. I've never heard mention of that before. Seems like it should be mentioned in the same breath as "Planet 9 from OuterSpace".

Thanks for interesting leads.

Expand full comment

Yes, this is working for me. I'm glad I subscribed.

1. I am getting at least what I expected if not more

2. If I think a post is too long given my time constraints, I skim it. Still works. If it is about a movie I think I may not be interested in, I just skip it. I think you can trust your readers.

3. I like the mix. PS I'm still holding out for anything about Korean gangster movies. :-)

4. I probably wouldn't be that interested in a podcast unless it was a deep behind-the-scenes look at some kind of huge success or grand fiasco. I'm a sucker for behind-the-scenes on creative works. But those are, I imagine, giant journalistic lifts. Actor interviews don't compel because they seem a little too polished. Maybe directors. Or maybe sound engineers or steady-cam operators...i'm really interested in the mechanics.

5. I prefer streaming reviews. I'm not ready to go to a movie theater yet.

Keep the posts coming! Really enjoying them. PS KOREAN GANGSTER MOVIES

Expand full comment

Hi Ty,

I do miss reading your Globe reviews and barely read them anymore but do support you going out on your own and am glad that I can still follow you. I pretty much appreciate everything you write about, it’s all fine with me.

I’m not an avid film goer so signed up for your Friday review and that works best for me.

We don’t subscribe to a lot of online channels and I prefer movies to tv. I don’t have a lot of patience with a lot of things on tv, but do like Schitts Creek, Broadchurch (which is on Netflix, so

Maybe it’s not tv) and the Crown (also on Netflix) at the moment.

I have to confess that I don’t read every Friday review but do like to know that I can refer to them when I want to and have not been sweeping your posts in my email😁

Expand full comment

Read your column often in the Globe, and was happy to follow you to this medium.

And it IS working for me! Posts are not too long, and topics/focus not too obscure. Many a good alert to things I'd have never looked at otherwise or even known about. You are smart and a good writer, and, have a notably good eye for things many might pass over.

Expand full comment

I also watch a LOT of PBS. Maybe that’s why I don’t consider shows on Netflix to be tv, but I gues they’re streaming tv.

Expand full comment

I am enjoying having the newsletter show up in my email -- no need to hunt for it. I used to go to the movies a few times a month pre-pandemic and live between the Capitol in Arlington and the Lexington theatre, so I'm well served. Have only been to a couple of movies since vaccination, but like you, I'm not a CGI-laced movie fan. I very much appreciate your reviews of the new movies and welcome any suggestions for the overlooked films and series available via streaming. After your writeup of It's Always Fair Weather, I watched it and was glad to find that movie that I hadn't heard of! Keep the content coming!

Expand full comment

I think the new format for your writing is terrific - you are writing more, which is just fine by me. Not to fawn, but you are doing better than fine. Keep it up!

Expand full comment

I am always trying to streaming content that is worthy of sticking with a season of episodes or more. During pandemic I spent some time watching European mysteries including British (Unforgotten) Danish, Swedish, and most recently Icelandic (Trapped). It would be great if we could ask you genre questions such as given my recent likes, what else is out there that I would like too.

Expand full comment