13 Comments

TY! CBS was the home for the Mary Tyler Moore Show, Saturdays at 9 p.m.

Expand full comment

Thanks! The memories are sweet. Plus he pushed through health benefits for SAG membership. He will be missed AND always with us.

Expand full comment
Aug 29, 2021Liked by Ty Burr

For a new college grad at her first job in NY, Mary Richards was my hero. I wanted to toss my own hat in the air to celebrate every day. Mr. Grant reminded me of my first boss! Saturday Night in the 70's was so joyous - All in the Family, Mash and MTM. Then to 8th street in the Village to get the Sunday NY Times early edition and a carvel hot fudge sundae. Forever cemented in my memory.

Expand full comment

And later in the pilot, if memory serves, he shows up drunk at Mary's house. Too funny! RIP Ed Asner!

Expand full comment

He was an activist/ actor who cared more about social and political change than a career. May he rest in power -so glad to have met him

Expand full comment

I was 14 when the MTM show came out. I loved the show and always watched. The first image of a young woman living on her own and working. When I first moved to Boston in 1980, she was a model for me and for many other young women I knew.

The Lou Grant Show was when I fell in love with Ed Asner. He had humanity, was smart and lovable. I grew up in LA with the LA Times. I learned about newsrooms and journalism from that show too.

What a mensch. I recently came across the Movie “Christmas Dreams” on TV and watched it because he was in it. I wrote down this quote by his character:

“Rose, you haven’t forgotten how to dance. You’ve forgotten how to take that first step.”

He inspired man of us to take first steps.

Expand full comment

*that was supposed to be “many” not “man” in the last line.

Expand full comment

It’s true. Watching the first episode on the basis of MTM’s presence, the second I heard that line I knew I was committed for the long haul. Previously, I’d only known Asher for playing bad guys.

I later had the opportunity to meet him, and seriously thank him for playing a role (as Lou Grant, mainly in the drama) in determining my career path.

For several years, I worked at a paper with many characteristics of the Trib - two reporters, one photographer, several editors, and a bunch of people wandering around whose jobs I never was clear on.

Expand full comment

I don't much care for Network sitcoms.

But I LOVED ther Mary Tyler Moore show, and have seen many of the episodes many times...Great characters, great writing, great acting. And Ed Asner was such a huge part of it. Yes: I hate spunk is a great place to start with him. One of the great portrayals of a character. Ted, for instance, was great too, but he was mostly the same thing. But Lou Grant could be almost anything. Angry, kind, frustrated, resourceful. And lots more.RIP Ed Asner.

Expand full comment

Check out “the Girl Most Likely to . . .” With Ed Asher and Stockard Channing. It was a TV movie in the 70s. Two excellent actors in a very black comedy - they won me over.

Expand full comment

How good was Ed Asner? Check out his chilling portrayal of the character Axel Jordache in "Rich Man, Poor Man". Pure evil.

Expand full comment

I still watch The Gathering every December (IMDB https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076067/).

Ed Asner was excellent in that role and so much more.

Expand full comment