9 Comments

Great stuff, sir. IMHO, the Everlys were a lot more progressive than their Early RnR peers. Two Yanks, Roots…essential stuff.

Love this delightfully mellow and psychedelic version of their own earlier tune.

https://youtu.be/V6Bg2SEiQ1k

Expand full comment

Beautiful!

Expand full comment

Ahhhh ... voices from my youth. I loved the Everly Brothers and their music. Harmonies to die for!

Expand full comment

Thanks for this piece. I liked the Everly’s but was never moved by them the way I was/am by the Louvin’s, who reached that pleasure center but also brought the anguish. I remember a grade school teacher playing us the Everly’s ‘Barbara Allen’ as an example of our folk traditions. Being culturally unaware early teens we made fun of their ‘accents’ which hurt her feelings. Shame on us.

BTW One of my favorite versions of the song is from the Alistair Sims’ ‘Scrooge.’

Expand full comment

The Everlys' influence on the Beach Boys is potent. The Boys did a cover version of "Devoted to You" on their Party album in 1965, but there's also a version without the party noises dubbed over - all the better to showcase some sterling harmony by Brian Wilson and Mike Love. If only they could have been that harmonious off Mike. Er, mic.

Expand full comment

Thank you Ty for such a great tribute. I loved their music.

Expand full comment

The Everly's harmonies stop me in my tracks to this day. Planning to play the Songs Our Father Taught Us album as a tribute to them today

Expand full comment

Wonderful music. Close harmony and understandable lyrics missing today.

For me, the best of the ‘50s were The HiLos, a dramatically close quartet,

often singing a cappella, with a top tenor who could sing countertenor.

Amazing arrangements. They even outdid the Four Freshmen.

Take a listen!

Expand full comment